Board of Directors

Jessica Maurer, Esq. – M4A Executive Director
Jessica Maurer began work as the Executive Director of the Maine Association of Area Agencies on Aging (M4A) in January 2011. On behalf of Maine’s five Area Agencies on Aging, she advocates for healthy aging at the national, state and local levels. She also assists the area agencies in strategic planning, program development and implementation. She provides leadership within Maine’s aging network, including on the Maine Council on Aging and Maine Council for Elder Abuse Prevention, to advance public policy initiatives that support Maine’s aging population. She is one of the lead authors of the 2012-2016 Maine State Plan on Aging and of Building a Collaborative Community Response to Aging in Place. A licensed Maine attorney, Jessica worked for nearly 17 years in the Maine Office of the Attorney General. In her last 7 years in the Office, she served as Special Assistant Attorney General, implementing public policy and legislative initiatives for the Attorney General. Policy areas included elder abuse, prescription drug pricing and end of life care.

Betsy Sawyer-Manter – President
Executive Director, SeniorsPlus
[Androscoggin, Franklin, & Oxford Counties]
Betsy Sawyer-Manter joined SeniorsPlus as Executive Director in May 2009. Previously, she was a senior manager for 20 years at a Community Action Agency. SeniorsPlus has two key divisions; Elder Independence of Maine (EIM) a statewide home healthcare coordinating program and Community Services which oversees the ADRC, Nutrition Services and Educational Center. SeniorsPlus Community Services programs serve Androscoggin, Oxford and Franklin Counties.

Dyan Walsh
Executive Director, Eastern Area Agency on Aging
[Hancock, Penobscot, Piscataquis, & Washington Counties]
Dyan Walsh became Executive Director of Eastern Area Agency on Aging in August 2016.  Prior to taking on this role, she was the Community Service Director for the agency for many years.   Eastern Area Agency on Aging serves Washington, Hancock, Penobscot and Piscataquis counties, an are larger than any other New England state.

Gerard Queally – Secretary
President and CEO, Spectrum Generations
[Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, Somerset, & Waldo Counties]
Gerard (Gerry) Queally, President and CEO of Spectrum Generations, took the leadership reins of the organization in July 2011 after serving as Chief Financial Officer for Harbor Family Services in Topsham, ME from 2005 to 2011. Prior to working at Harbor Family Services, Gerry was the Finance Director at Ingraham from 1998-2005, where he was instrumental in the development of 211 Maine. He currently serves as a Captain in the United States Navy Reserve and is the 1st Vice President on the Board of Directors for Pine Tree Society.

Joy Baressi Saucier
Executive Director, Aroostook Area Agency on Aging
[Aroostook County]

Joy Barresi Saucier, RN, MHA, FACHE, is the Executive Director of the Aroostook Agency on Aging. Joy, a Registered Nurse, has worked in a variety of healthcare positions with progressive responsibility including patient care, community education, fundraising, and project management. Joy also holds a Graduate Certificate in Healthcare Administration and a Master of Health Administration degree. She is an alumnus of Leadership Maine (Phi Class), serves on the Board of Directors for the Aroostook Partnership, and is a founding member of Empower Aroostook, a group committed to empowering individuals to connect Aroostook. 


Laurence Gross
Executive Director, Southern Maine Agency on Aging
[Cumberland, & York Counties]
Larry Gross has served as the Executive Director of the Southern Maine Area Agency on Aging since 1983. The Agency serves elders and families in Cumberland and York Counties. He also served as Chair of the Steering Group which created the Maine Association of Area Agencies on Aging.

Ted Rooney –
At Large Board Member
Ted Rooney  was the Maine Project Lead for Aligning Forces for Quality, a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funded initiative led in Maine by Quality Counts in partnership with the Maine Quality Forum and the Maine Health Management Coalition.  He is also a Clinical Advisor for the Maine Health Management Coalition’s Pathways to Excellence initiative, which measures and reports the value of health care and works to change the reimbursement system to reward high value care. As part of that work, Ted facilitates labor-management groups working together to purchase high value health care.  Previously, Ted managed health programs for LL Bean for 15 years.  He has undergraduate degrees in sociology and nursing, and a masters in public health.

Rhonda Selvin – At Large Board Member
Rhonda Selvin is a Family Nurse Practitioner at Wiscasset Family Medicine and is also the Associate Medical Director for Maine Quality Counts. In addition to her role as a Primary Care Provider at her practice, she also served as the Medical Director and Clinical Lead for the practice as a Patient Centered Medical Home. She currently serves as the President of the Maine Nurse Practitioners Association. In all of her roles, she uses her considerable skills to facilitate partnerships, build coalitions and design fully integrated systems of clinical care.

Pat Vampatella – At Large Board Member – Treasurer
Pat Vampatella is a retired nurse from New Gloucester. She spent half her professional career covering most of the major specialties, including long term care. The other half was spent in Nursing and Higher Education administration. She has served on many local, state and national boards, including serving for 8 years on the Board of Directors for SeniorsPlus. She is currently also very involved with the Lewiston-Auburn Senior College and serves as Board Chair. She holds a B.S.N. from Molloy College, N.Y., a M.S.N. in Nursing Administration from Boston University, and an Ed.D. in Higher Education from the University of Maine, Orono. Pat has been married for nearly 50 years to Phil and has four children and twelve grandchildren who are helping her cross items off of her bucket list!